Media Exposures: A Day to Day Perspective

When I was considering all the different media available in an integrated marketing communication campaign, I thought to myself, what different media would a firm need to communicate through to target me as a consumer? So I thought back over the last few weeks to the kinds of media that I would have been exposed to. I ticked off television, radio, newspapers and magazines as media that I wasn’t exposed to in the last few weeks.

The internet quickly stood out as a media that I have been heavily exposed to. Social networking, online magazines, search engine brand placements, and video streaming on sites like YouTube and Epictv are all things that I have used in the last few weeks. But what else? Surely there must be other media that a company could use to communicate their product to me. As I went through my daily routine I quickly noticed all the signs and billboards that I was ignoring as I drove to the shops on my mission to purchase a new set of glasses, so maybe that was a soft second form of media. I walked through the shops and there was the odd stall where people tried to personally sell me different products as I walked right by, shaking my head saying, “no thank you”. I had watched some movies though. Maybe there were some product placements in those that were subtly communicating a brand into my subconscious?

Then I thought, well what have I consumed in the last few weeks? I certainly went out and bought those new glasses today. But why then had I chosen to go to that particular store to make my purchase and not their competitor’s across the road? Well a friend had recommended them as good value and good service of course. This made me realise that most of the purchases I make are through recommendations from family and friends. It turns out that my exposure to different advertising media isn’t as limited as I thought. It is the exposure of my family and friends that also influences the decisions I make on what I consume, and many of them definitely watch television, listen to commercial radio and read the newspaper. So a company would still need a holistic approach in an integrated marketing communication campaign to successfully influence my purchasing decisions after all!

18 thoughts on “Media Exposures: A Day to Day Perspective

  1. Hi

    That was a good read. I think you are correct in this. If you are looking for something to buy, you often keep it in mind and seek research and understanding, you consume information about that product, who is buying what, reviews, magazines, TV’, WOM etc.

    You meet up with friends who challenge your understanding and discuss other products. It is definitely a holistic approach today as the consumer is exposed to all forms of advertising before making a final decision. For my personally it largely depends on the cost of a product and what interest I have in it, I would not really scan over specials at a supermarket in great depth but I would consider something like a new computer, I would do my research on the internet, reviews etc. I would assess the public hype on that product and discuss among friends who share the same interests. Maybe I would post something on facebook for feedback. There is no single form of advertising anymore that would work in this case. I need to become exposed to many forms before making a final decision.

    Like

  2. Word of mouth is one of those elements that companies try really hard to drive, or influence (via social media mostly), but it can be a delicate balance for them, can’t it? Think of the company facebook pages that get bombarded with consumer complaints when something’s gone wrong.
    Marketing strategies really have to attempt to cover a range of different media these days – it’ not just your radio, tv and newpaper/mags.
    On a day to day basis we are exposed to so many messages, it’s sometimes hard to navigate to the ones you are actually interested in.

    Like

  3. Interesting read, and one I can definitely relate to. I work in Shopping Centre Management and continuously exposed to brands spruiking their wares. I do believe it is WOM that influences me most. I like to know that what my peers have experienced from a certain brand and when someone I trust makes a recommendation it isn’t about the brand anymore it is about my trust in their opinion. I found the video from this weeks recommended viewing about WOM and Facebook very interesting. As much as I value my friends opinions, I question if seeing that they have liked a company on Facebook is as influencing. The social network that does have a massive influence on my purchase decisions is Urban Spoon…I can’t think of the last time I went to a new restaurant without having a quick check of their rating. The rates haven’t come from my peers, but I do trust this word of month.

    I wonder what influence those mediums you mentioned are having and I’m just not realising it…

    Like

  4. We’re bombarded everyday from every angle & hardly notice on a concious level, what about unconciously or subliminally? You rationalise your choices & think your decision is logical, but is it? WOM is king I think, especially in a small community. I ran a child care centre in a small coastal town, only 1 in town & when we asked new families where they found out about us, it was usually becasue they knew someone whose children already came to the centre & they recommended us. And thakd goodness for shows like The Checkout & Gruen on the ABC to raise our level of awareness.

    Like

  5. Thanks for your blog. I think you’re right we are exposed to so much marketing communication everyday and we do a great job in filtering most of it out or filing it away until needed. WOM is extremely powerful especially for those purchases in which we are emotionally or financially invested in. I am much less likely to take a risk on something I’m invested heavily in and am influenced by WOM.

    Like

  6. I think you summed it up well in your blog. Companies can’t just choose one or two avenues to market their product in. They need to market using many different modalities in order to reach a broad audience, if that’s their objective. However sometimes it’s the subliminal messages that get through without us realising. This could maybe also explain why you bought your glasses where you did. I agree that word of mouth is still one of the most powerful ways of promoting a brand or product. There are so many ways we can avoid watching ads these days, and with oversaturation of advertising everywhere you look, it’s easy to just click past the ads and avoid them. Word of mouth however, especially in regards to good service, is pretty hard to beat.

    Like

  7. it’s so interesting to me that the media that you have been exposed to was once really the only few forms of media available – how the times are changing!

    I too have been paying a lot more attention to advertising in the last few weeks, and analysing my purchasing habits as well. In particular, I’ve been paying a lot more attention to billboards.

    I too bought a new pair of glasses this week, and now that i think about it – didn’t even question my decision to go to specsavers. I lost a pair and well i guess i should go to specsavers! After spending more money than i thought i would, I realised i didn’t do any research or comparisons… the advertising had done its job and i marched straight to the store without question. Bugger!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Consumers have always valued opinions expressed directly to them through recommandations from friends or falilies and most importantly, the social media. Today, it also operates on a one-to-many basis: product reviews are posted online and opinions disseminated through social networks. Some customers even create Web sites or blogs to praise or punish brands.

    in recent years, an increasing number of Marketers has realised that rsther than spend millions of dollars on elaborately conceived advertising campaigns, what really makes up a consumer’s mind is not only simple but also free: a word-of-mouth recommendation from a trusted source!
    As consumers overwhelmed by product choices as well as the the ever-increasing barrage of traditional marketing, word of mouth is fast and effective.

    The impact of word of mouth is extremely significant when consumers are buying a product for the first time or when products are relatively expensive, factors that tend to make people conduct more research, seek more opinions, and deliberate longer than they otherwise would. And its influence will probably grow: the digital revolution has amplified and accelerated its reach to the point where word of mouth is no longer an act of intimate, one-on-one communication.

    Like

  9. As you already mentioned different forms of channels that a company could take to communicate their brand value or attributes to you but what do you think how far a company can go to develop such channels as you mentioned the opinions of friends and family in making decisions a article strike in my mind which I read today only “undercover marketing” is a form of communication channel in which your friends or peers might be working for the marketers and their association with them will be hidden from you or disguised and most probably they are being paid or given incentives to influence you in buying their products. So the next question comes up that is their a possibility that a peer group is not an undercover agent of the marketer?

    Kennett, J Matthews S 2008,’What’s the buzz? Undercover marketing and the corruption of friendship’, Journal of applied philosophy, vol 25, no 1.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Some great ideas raised here. You are definitely right about the daily routine, and how it exposes you in a variety of ways to different marketing, without you even realising it. A simple thing like getting fuel or milk from the store leads you on a well known path of travel that exposes you to all kinds of marketing. From the radio on in the car, to the billboards and street side ads, to the advertising in the car park and on the way into the store.

    Then when your actually in the store you have all these products screaming out to you to buy them. In the grocery business many products are off located or displayed at high traffic areas such as the entry and exit/checkout. These products are referred to as impulsive products, as they are considered an impulse buy. You didn’t know it, but you really needed two packets of chips, a chocolate bar, and a bottle of soft drink!!Basically you need a lot of will power (and maybe some luck!) to get out with just the milk.

    So just going about your daily business brings with it a constant barrage of marketing techniques that we must fight off or avoid. Its no wonder the groceries always seem to cost more than you expected!

    Like

  11. Great way of thinking back on what mediums have affected you. I keep coming back to how important word of mouth is as a marketing technique. We all listen and trust our family and friends more than these large corporations. By providing a quality service or product for the public to rave about, can do much more than any advertising campaign.

    Like

  12. Yes, I have been heavily exposed to the internet as well. Social media, reviews on YouTube, online shops, emails, etc. that I use all the time. When I plan to buy something such as phone, laptops, clothing, makeups, I usually read or watch the reviews online first. And then I still will ask my close friends for comments. Word of mouth from my close friends seems more important for me.

    Like

  13. I like your post. It makes me realise just how many types of media we are exposed to on a daily basis without even realising it. it’s important that marketers realise that and not limit themselves to only certain types of media for advertising their products because they never know which media will be more effective than the other. Much as we all use social media to a large extent, it’s interesting to note that most of us will admit to being influenced to buy certain products simply because someone we trust has recommended it. Word of mouth is the one form of advertising that companies don’t have to pay for, so they should make good use of it by ensuring that their brand is competitive, that way, satisfied consumers will advertise on their behalf.

    Like

  14. Thank you for your share~
    I agree with your point, we are exposed to marketing communications, there is a wide range of marketing tools, for now, with the development of the Internet, each of us are exposed in the Internet, but word of mouth is very important.
    As for me, if my friend recommended to me a product and see a product of my own, I’m sure that I would choose products friend introduced to me, because I believe that friend’s recommendation. Buy a good product reputation, they will not take risks for invest.
    As another example, I choose a restaurant, I would search the Internet, which restaurant to word of mouth is good, and then choose which restaurant to eat.

    Like

  15. Great post.
    Word of Mouth marketing appears to be the most important source of influence. For instance, if my family members or friends introduce me a product, I will automatically trust this product even if I haven’t bought it yet, because I trust my family and friends, and of course their advice. Also, as a girl, if my best friend has bought a lipstick and recommends it to me, I will certainly want to buy a same one from the same brand. The key is that when you hear your friends talking about the product, they will act on behalf of the company by delivering the necessary message to you already. This is very fast and once the message has delivered, it will be rooted somewhere, and in very soon time, it will come out and lead you to the right place to make your purchase.

    Like

  16. It s interesting to read that in the above comments most people are being swayed by word of mouth. It would be interesting to see what marketing material is being lost on us altogether. There is a debate on whether banner ads are worthwhile or not as we are automatically conditioning ourselves to look away from these types of ads. Are companies simply wasting their time fulfilling all the marketing avenues for their IMC’s?

    Like

  17. Interesting a the way that it comes from a very personal perspective, but still brings out a strong message about the importance of an integrated communication plan and the word of mouth. The combination points me directly to the rising of social media, which is all about communication influencing consumers and people interaction. I think this article on the power of “Like” has a good discussion about this:
    http://eds.b.ebscohost.com.ezproxy-f.deakin.edu.au/eds/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=c3e462fb-da83-44fb-a399-6c52c7bb5b81%40sessionmgr113&vid=4&hid=117

    Like

Leave a Reply

