Are you a brand loyalist?

By Leanne McComish and Kirsten McVean

Brand-Loyalty

How do you choose a product? As a consumer, are you the loyal customer who returns to the ‘known’ or is your consumerism based around fads or changing products of the time? What do companies need to do to inspire your loyalty? Are you bought by their niche products, clever marketing ploys, advertising strategies or quality of product? Are you the consumer that returns because you know it’s a safe choice for your requirements and can trust that you know what you’re getting is reliable, does what its intended purpose is for and there’s a minimum quality of product every time you return to the brand?

If you’re anything like us, each of you will have brands/products that you return to over and over, whether it be for convenience sake or pure reliability, or even as a family have grown up with a particular brand/product. As vehicle consumers, we have bought the same ‘brand’ of car often for many years. This could be multi-factoral – sleekness of vehicle, finished nicely inside, cost of service and repair, development of product by the company and diversifying to grow with our consumer needs. A perfect example of this is Mazda. As a company, over the years, they have grown to include a wide variety of car models to suit all life stages, and hence not really targeting their product to a particular segment. The diversification of their company has managed to almost corner the entire market. Mazda can now cater to entry level vehicle owners (eg Mazda 2), mid range (the biggest selling car on the market – Mazda 3), family level cars (CX-5 and now a smaller version called CX-3), country users (their ute the BT-50), and those with more of a sport inclination (MX-5 – pop top target towards a young white collar worker or those going through possible mid-life crisis). Mazda has been very clever in continuing with the same ‘brand’, using well known products (eg the Mazda 3 started as the 323 and has been around for a long time), and then developing new products to corner a wider segment of the car market.

Take, for example, the following YouTube video Mazda have created that very cleverly pulls at your heart strings to show the consumer how its brand will always have relevance in your life, no matter what stage you are at. The emotional connection they create, makes the consumer want to be (hopefully) part of their continuing experience.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7XuL0OoyXE

Also, take a look at this article on Forbes.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/marketshare/2013/01/07/is-brand-loyalty-dying-a-slow-and-painful-death/

So, are you a brand loyalist?

8 thoughts on “Are you a brand loyalist?

  1. Brand loyalty is not a one time thing its built overtime by the brands by giving customers what they want in an effective manner and by providing better services and values what their counterparts are providing. I have an experience with a clothing brand I can say that i prefer there brand over others and therefore can call myself loyal to them, but that does not mean i dont visit other clothing stores, I try out other brands also but if if i don’t find anything better than them then i choose my brand and they have reinforced my loyalty over-time without even asking I am being provided with discounts and special treatment. Creating a loyal customer is a continous process for the companies.

    Like

  2. Am I a brand loyalist? Yes and no.
    When it comes to simple goods in the daily life, I am certainly not. I don’t really care what brand my bread or milk has or what kind of socks I wear. I go for the cheapest one or grab whatever comes in my mind at the time of the sale switching from brand to brand every time. I don’t want to spend time or attention on the decision because I know that the product most probably fulfils my expectations. There is not much difference.
    But when it comes to more difficult purchase decisions, this means purchase that have more relevance for me or where the decision influences the quality of the outcome, brands matter for me. Regarding shampoo, I am a brand loyalist. I have tested several brands and I know that Herbal Essences is the one that makes my hair nice and shiny. Every time I tried something else I was disappointed and after some trial of other brands, I am now loyal to Herbal Essences because I know that it is not going to disappoint me.

    Like

  3. Good Topic…
    Yes i am a Brand loyalist. Youth of today have spending power and they also have loyalty to brands. Some of this comes from their parents, but they also make their own decisions. Brands who tap into this loyalty when a consumer is a tween, and nurture it through the teen years, will have an extremely loyal customer by the time the customer is a young adult. Companies need to remember that consumers do not magically appear at age 18.

    Like

  4. Thanks for the post – Mazda do a great job of detonating their brand values across a range of segments and I think leverage the aspirational aspects of the brand to drive loyalty. Their lifecycle approach to marketing the various models under the umbrella Mazda brand since the ‘zoom-zoom’ proposition launched in 2000, has seen them grow to #1. I’m a loyal Mazda customer and reflecting on their marketing and positioning, I think it’s fair to say that they do deliver on their brand promise which is crucial to driving my loyalty.

    However – a car is a high involvement, highly emotive purchase (thanks to many years of category defining campaigns for global brands with big marketing budgets and sophisticated positioning of the emotional attributes of their products to drive their brand positioning). On lower costs / lower involvement purchases where the emotional attributes of the brand position are less relevant (to me, anyway), I don’t consider myself a brand loyalist. In short – if it’s high involvement the brand tends to play a bigger role than low involvement purchases; and I’m much more likely to be brand loyal if I’ve established a ‘relationship’ with that brand before, and it’s delivered on the brand promise.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi

    Really like or have relatively fixed brand in the minds of everyone.
    Brand loyalty through three phases: behavioral loyalty, attitude loyalty and behavior – attitude loyalty. Today the use of more behavioral – attitudinal loyalty to this concept, meaning that customers of a certain brand of product or service has a certain dependence, there is a certain emotional preference, repeat purchase the same brand of products or services, and actively businesses to advertise and recommend, and less susceptible to the temptation of the outside world, especially information about competing brands. In other words, not only have a high degree of brand loyalty, repeat purchase behavior, but also with high emotion, that preference for the brand.
    Consumer division in the true sense of repeat purchase behavior can only be regarded as loyal consumers, although this has been in the consumer repeat purchase, but may not be very emotional, that this brand is not very favored, leading them to repeat purchase may because of inertia or inertia dictates, for example, on a number of high-income consumers, their time is not too much more compact time to collect product information, as long as a commodity to meet their minimum functional requirements, they may Long-term buy this brand of goods, but this is not brand loyal consumers who in the true sense, because they do not have a high preference for the brand merchandise.

    Like

  6. It can be regarded as loyalty to the product as a form of trust and experience. In my opinion, the brand loyalty bases on the actual experience to product. Personally, selecting products based on shopping habits to avoid risks. However when customer is facing with many factors such as: advertising, curiosities and the external impact, which are affecting the decision to buy the product. In addition, the promotions, advertising on product quality and the evaluation of other consumers also affect daily shopping habits. However, when giving buying decision for high-valuable products, the personal experience, the evaluation of experts and friend’s advice, which have greater influence

    Like

  7. For me it depends on the product itself- for example I am far more loyal to clothing brands than to dish washing detergent brands. It really depends on hoiw much I value the product and the need for reliability and consistency each time I purchase the product. But I can also become disloyal to a brand if they fiddle with their product too much. Cadbury is a good example of this when they replaced some of the cocoa oil in their chocolate with palm oil- the change adversely impacted the taste of the chocolate and many outraged consumers switched off the brand. Cabdury subsequently succumb to the consumer pressure and reverted back to thier traditional receipe.
    http://www.news.com.au/finance/cadbury-removes-palm-oil/story-e6frfm1i-1225764168405

    I loved you example about Mazda- we have a Mazda 3 and a CX-7……defintely loyal to the mazda brand- good reliable cars that suit most lifestyles and budgets.

    Like

  8. Great question – certainly gets me thinking if I am brand loyal or not. Like others it depends on what the product is but as a general rule I would say I am not overly loyal (other than to a few brands). My decisions are usually based on value for money and convenience rather than brand loyalty. For example, I am with the same bank for all my banking needs out of convenience rather than a commitment to the brand. It is easier to have one online account to review all of my accounts than multiple sources. Of course there are some minimum requirements that the bank must meet in order to retain my accounts – this is where value for money comes into play. If the bank had high fees and interest rates, I would look to change.

    So what makes me loyal to those few products?
    – Quality
    – Uniqueness (I don’t want the same as everyone else)
    – Australian made
    – Good customer service
    – Past positive experience

    Cars are an interesting example of brand loyalty particularly in Australia. In the past it was either Ford or Holden but this has really shifted over the past few decades with the lowering of the car import tariff rate in the 1980s. I wonder if this hadn’t occurred whether the shift in brand loyalty to Asian/European cars would have been the same?

    Like

Leave a Reply

